December 8 Friends, Romans, Countrymen, Lend Me Your Ears

Enlightenment is a destructive process. It has nothing to do with becoming better or being happier. Enlightenment is the crumbling away of untruth. It’s seeing through the facade of pretense. It’s the complete eradication of everything we imagined to be true.” Adyashanti

Today is the weirdest holiday I have ever heard of and also don’t quite understand: “Take It in the Ear Day”. Take what in the ear? Since no one has any real explanation of what this holiday means, you can pretty much celebrate it any way you want. Go get a new piercing on those lovely ears, or just a new pair of earrings; whisper something sweet to someone; ask an ENT Doc out on a date! I have compiled a list of thought provoking quotes to ponder about this most fantasmical sensory organ which controls our hearing and balance. Go impress someone with your vast knowledge of “ear” quotes. Go. Do it!

My absolute favorite quote:

“I ain’t the same person I was when I bit that guy’s ear off.” Mike Tyson. Tell me about it, Mike. This pretty much sums up the last 20 years of my life!

Here are the rest:

“To read a poem is to hear it with our eyes; to hear it is to see it with our ears.” Octavio Paz
“As long as my music is real, it’s no limit to how many ears I can grab.” Kendrick Lamar
“I know it’s cheesy, but if you listen to the universe, it gives you pointers. I strongly believe if you keep your ears open and eyes open, your path will become clear. You just have to make sure you don’t ignore it.” Matthew James Thomas
“Bushes have ears, walls have eyes.” Jamaican Proverb
 
“Put your ear down close to your soul and listen hard.” Anne Sexton
“Be careful who you vent to. A listening ear is also a running mouth.”
“A powerful man has big ears.” Japanese Proverb
“For it was not into my ear you whispered, but into my heart. It was not my lips you kissed, but my soul.” Judy Garland
“I have an angel on one shoulder and a devil on the other and I’m also deaf in one ear.”
“People don’t always need advice. Sometimes all they really need is a hand to hold, an ear to listen and a heart to understand them.”
“The ear is the only true writer and the only true reader.” Robert Frost
Leave a Reply

