December 27 My Boy’s Bday

xavier
My boy at a half century

“Please don’t worry so much because in the end none of us have very long on this earth – life is fleeting. And if you’re ever distressed, cast your eyes to the summer sky when the stars are strung across the velvety night, and when a shooting start streaks through the blackness, turning night into day, make a wish and think of me. Make your life spectacular. I know I did.” Robin Williams in Jack (1996)

Today is my son’s birthday and I just want to think about him all day.  My kids have had ideas and “dares” for me throughout the I Dare Me Challenge this year, they have participated in many and I feel like we have gotten closer through our shared experiences. I am so thankful that my boys chose me as the vessel to bring them into this world. Older Charming and Also Handsome Son is 25 today! I spent the day thinking about my 25th year and hoping all the best for him.

I was 25 in 1996. As I recall, it was a great year. Here are some things in history that you may have forgotten:

Bill Clinton was the POTUS, Google “Monica Lewinsky” for more info

Third Rock from the Sun debuted on NBC

Tupac was shot and killed in Las Vegas

We cloned our first mammal, Dolly The Sheep

Howard Stern, formerly of TV, became Howard Stern of radio

Comedian/ actor Martin Lawrence totally lost it and went cuckoo in Sherman Oaks, CA

The Nutty Professor and Independence Day both debuted in theaters

Hotmail was created, don’t act like you didn’t have a Hotmail account!

Michael Jordan was THE MAN and Space Jam was the greatest movie ever created, according to my son

“Set It Off” was my favorite movie and Cleo was a bad b*tch

I was heavily into alt rock and “Mother, Mother” by Tracy Bonham was my fave song ~ “Everything’s fiiiiiiine!!!!!!”

That TWA flight from New York to France crashed right outside of New York and killed a bunch of people

MTV decided to get another channel, M2 now MTV2

Internet Explorer 3.0 was birthed into existence and the internet kinda became a big thing – remember when we called it the “world wide web”?

Barry Bonds from the San Francisco Giants, got 40 Home runs and stole 40 bases

OJ Simpson – I don’t even have time, just Google it

The Oakland Public School district passed a resolution declaring “Ebonics” a language or dialect, I swear this is true

Nintendo 64 game console exploded onto the market

Pokemon was the shizz among little nerdy boys

Cuba Gooding, Jr made “Show me the money!!!” popular (from the movie, Jerry Maguire)

My son was endlessly fascinated by the story of the Unabomber – remember him?

Jon Benet Ramsey, a child beauty pageant contestant, was murdered in her house and her killer has still never been found

Ella Fitzgerald died on June 15

Jonathan Melvoin keyboardist for the Smashing Pumpkins and brother of Wendy (from the Prince and the Revolution) overdosed and died in a hotel room in NYC

Who could forget the Macarena?

People were fighting in stores for the Tickle Me Elmo doll

Seinfeld and Friends were my Thursday night party line up with my friends

Prince got married and his baby died

Leave a comment